Quantitative Monitoring of Plata River Basin Waters

by V. F. de sa e Benevides,
R. M. Coimbra,

Document Type: Proceeding Paper

Part of: North American Water and Environment Congress & Destructive Water


The governments of Argentina, Bolivia. Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay, represented in the First Extraordinary Meeting of Chancellors of the Nations bordering the Plata River Basin, held in Brasilia on April 22 and 23, 1969, convinced of the need for cooper ative action that would permit a harmonic and balanced development, as well as an optimization of the use of the great natural resources of the region, and at the same time guarantee its preservation for future generations, resolved to sign the Plata River Basin Treaty. After being ratified by all parts concerned, the treaty came into effect on August 14, 1970.

Subject Headings: Rivers and streams | Basins | Developing countries | Water resources | Government | Permits | Natural resources | Urban and regional development | South America | Argentina | Bolivia | Brazil | Paraguay | Uruguay | Central America

Services: Buy this book/Buy this article


Return to search