First Four Decades of the Hydraulics Division

by Hunter Rouse, (Hon.M.ASCE), Carver Prof. Emeritus; The Univ. of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa; also, Visiting Prof., Colorado State Univ., Fort Collins, Colo.,

Serial Information: Journal of the Hydraulics Division, 1978, Vol. 104, Issue 3, Pg. 327-336

Document Type: Journal Paper


An account is given of the background of the ASCE Hydraulics Division and its establishment in 1939, as well as of the roles played by F.C. Scobey, B.A. Bakhmeteff, G.H. Matthes, C.H. Paul, and J.C. Stevens in its early years. Attention is also focused on the series of Iowa Hydraulics Conference begun by F.T. Mavis in 1939 and their gradual evolution into the Division's Specialty Conferences initiated by A.S. Fry in 1950. Both the list of past Division Chairmen and that of Specialty Conference hosts are given in full.

Subject Headings: Hydraulics

Services: Buy this book/Buy this article


Return to search