American Society of Civil Engineers


Validation of a Fast Hybrid Test System with Substructure Tests


by P. Benson Shing, (University of California at San Diego, La Jolla, CA, E-mail: pshing@ucsd.edu), Andreas Stavridis, (University of California at San Diego E-mail: andreas@ucsd.edu), Zhong Wei, (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO E-mail: zhong.wei@colorado.edu), Eric Stauffer, (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO E-mail: eric.stauffer@colorado.edu), Robert Wallen, (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO E-mail: robert.wallen@colorado.edu), and Rae-Young Jung, (University of Colorado, Boulder, CO E-mail: jung@colorado.edu)

pp. 1-16, (doi:  http://dx.doi.org/10.1061/40878(202)9)

     Access full text
     Purchase Subscription
     Permissions for Reuse  

Document type: Conference Proceeding Paper
Part of: Structures Congress 2006: 17th Analysis and Computation Specialty Conference
Abstract: This paper presents the substructure testing methodology developed for a state-of-the-art fast hybrid test system and the testing of a steel zipper frame. The testing technique is based on the pseudodynamic test concept that combines model-based simulation with physical testing. In the hybrid tests presented here, only the bottom-story braces of a three-story zipper frame were tested, while the rest of the frame was modeled in a computer during a test using a general structural analysis framework OpenSEES. The tests have demonstrated the capability and reliability of the system. The discussion also covers pertinent issues and considerations for carrying out a successful test.


ASCE Subject Headings:
Validation
Hybrid methods
Substructures