Extreme Makeover: Interchange Gets Ground Improvement Facelift

by Gillian M. Williams, P.E., (A.M.ASCE), Project Manager; Portland, ME, gwilliams@geiconsultants.com,
Sarah Ramp, (A.M.ASCE), Design Engineer; Carnegie, PA, sramp@menardgroupusa.com,
Sonia Sorabella Swift, P.E., (A.M.ASCE), Project Manager; Woburn, MA, sswift@geiconsultants.com,
Justin Labrozzi, P.E., (A.M.ASCE), Risk and Contract Manager; Carnegie, PA, jlabrozzi@menardgroupusa.com,
Michael P. Walker, P.E., (M.ASCE), Vice President, Geo-Structural Project Manager; Woburn, MA, mwalker@geiconsultants.com,
Frederic Masse, (Aff.M.ASCE), President; Carnegie, PA, fmasse@menardgroupusa.com,


Serial Information: Geo-Strata —Geo Institute of ASCE, 2016, Vol. 20, Issue 5, Pg. 64-66,68-70


Document Type: Feature article

Abstract: As part of the massive, $159.9 million Interchange 14A Improvement Project in the cities of Bayonne and Jersey City, NJ, the New Jersey Turnpike Authority (NJTA) is realigning 12 ramps and roadways and constructing four new bridges to improve the existing interchange. With higher-capacity toll booths and ramps connecting I-78 directly to adjacent roadways and streets, the NJTA aims to upgrade waterfront and port access for heavy truck traffic while simultaneously decreasing congestion and increasing safety on local city streets. According to the Turnpike Authority, about 50,000 vehicles, including 6,000 trucks, typically use the interchange each weekday. These numbers are only expected to rise as the Ports of New York and New Jersey (already the largest on the U.S. East Coast) continue to grow with expansion of the local Global Container Terminal, related to upgrades being made on the Panama Canal. Turnpike work began in early 2015 and is scheduled for completion sometime in 2018.

Subject Headings: Interchanges | Traffic safety | Civil engineering landmarks | Ramps (road) | Streets | Ports and harbors | United States | North America | New Jersey | New York | Panama | Central America

Services: Buy this book/Buy this article

 

Return to search