Notes on Statistics of Failures of Constructed Works

by Neal FitzSimons,

Document Type: Proceeding Paper

Part of: Reducing Failures of Engineered Facilities


This paper is concerned with both catastrophic and sub-catastrophic failures, which may be categorized into three types: Safety (type S), Functional (type F), and Ancillary (type A). Often a failure involves a combination of types; thus there are seven categories to deal with, viz. , S,F,A, SF, SA, FA, and SFA. Further, there are three major phases in which the incident may occur: pre-service (construction), service (operation), and post-service (demolition/abandonment). We are concerned with a total of 21 kinds of incidents, the knowledge of which will enhance our ability to reduce their frequency and severity, or perhaps even to prevent their recurrence, and to measure the efficacy of our prevention programs.

Subject Headings: Statistics | Failure analysis | Safety | Occupational safety | Structural failures | Disasters | Construction management | Construction industry

Services: Buy this book/Buy this article


Return to search